Civil War California Live Hero

California in the Civil War Live!

Facebook Live Series

You are here

SHARE THIS
 
Experience the story of Civil War California via Facebook Live
Civil War Trust Event
April 12-15, 2018
Join Us Online

California may have been far from the seats of the Civil War, but the Golden State is substantially woven into the fabric of the conflict. California experienced its own sectional conflicts, bristled with forts, camps, and prisons, and raised or paid for troops that fought at famous battlefields east and west. Today, California hosts Civil War connections galore, related place names wherever you go, well-preserved forts, with cemeteries filled with veterans’ graves, and some of the best artifacts from the conflict. Experience Civil War California live on Facebook with the Civil War Trust, the National Park Service, CBS Studios, the Huntington Library, Facebook, the Drum Barracks and other great partners as travel from San Francisco to San Diego and Los Angeles, allowing you to virtually visit these places no matter where you may be!

From April 12 to April 15, join us on our Facebook page where we will be live at key sites with special guests, artifacts, the best photographs and with special access to restricted sites. The Civil War prison at Alcatraz, a visit to the Mexican War (but Civil War connected!) battlefield at San Pasqual and a special visit to CBS Studios for a wide-ranging discussion on your favorite Civil War movies.  See the schedule below for more detailed information and whether you join us live on Facebook or watch the videos afterward, we’ll look forward to engaging with you!
 

Facebook Live Events; times and locations are subject to change

(and look for impromptu events as we have time!)

Thursday, April 12:

12:30 p.m. PDT / 3:30 p.m. EDT            The Civil War in San Francisco 
4:00 p.m. PDT / 7:00 p.m. EDT             Civil War Alcatraz!

 

Friday, April 13:

10:30 a.m. PDT/ 1:30 p.m. EDT             California Civil War Forts

 

Saturday, April 14:

11:00 a.m. PDT / 2:00 p.m. EDT            Live from the 1846 San Pasqual Battlefield!
4:00 p.m. PDT / 7:00 p.m. EDT             Civil War movies extravaganza at CBS Studios

 

Sunday, April 15:

9:00 a.m. PDT / 12:00 p.m. EDT           Behind the Scenes at the Huntington Library
TBD                                                               Unspecified live event TBD

 

Whether you are a novice or a full-on history nerd, expect to learn things you didn’t know before.  Join us for Civil War California Live!

 

CONTACT
Civil War Trust Education Department