For Immediate Release: 03/02/12

Civil War Trust Honors Regional Preservation Advocates

National organization recognizes outstanding historic preservation champions in Maryland, West Virginia

(Shepherdstown, W.Va.) – During a ceremony this evening Bavarian Inn in historic Shepherdstown, W.Va., the Civil War Trust, the nation’s largest battlefield preservation organization, will recognize two outstanding advocates for the protection of historic sites with its Chairman’s Awards for Excellence.  The awards, presented by the Trust’s chairman, Henry E. Simpson, honor H. Grant Dehart of Annapolis, Md., and Edward Dunleavy of Shepherdstown, W.Va. The event is held in conjunction with the organization’s Board of Trustees meeting and donor weekend, which features tours of the Antietam and Shepherdstown battlefields.

“Both of the two men we recognize today have made a dramatic impact on the preservation and interpretation of historic sites that will stretch far beyond our lifetimes,” said Simpson.  “The long-term commitments they have made to the cause, as well as the breadth and depth of their work, are inspirational. Their enthusiasm for American history knows no bounds and I am confident that their contributions to the work of preservation will continue for years to come.”

H. Grant Dehart has more than four decades of experience as a licensed architect and certified planner.  In 1987, he became director of the Maryland Environmental Trust, managing more than 30,000 acres of conservation easements. During his tenure at MET, Dehart established the Rural Historic Village Protection & Land Trust Assistance Programs, the Land Trust Grant Fund and the Maryland Land Trust Alliance. As director of the open space program at the Maryland Department of Natural Resources during the 1990s, he designed and implemented the Rural Legacy Program while overseeing state land acquisition efforts that led to the permanent protection of more than 150,000 acres, including 5,000 acres of Civil War sites. Among the many honors conferred on Dehart and his work are: the Environmental Protection Agency 1990 Center for Environmental Learning Award; the Conservation Fund’s 1994 Golden Eagle Award; and the National Trust for Historic Preservation’s 1999 National Preservation Award. As an analyst, consultant and emeritus member of the Board of Advisors to the National Trust for Historic Preservation, Dehart continues to be active in the historic preservation, land conservation, planning and smart growth communities.

Edward Dunleavy has served as president of the Shepherdstown Battlefield Preservation Association Inc., since its inception in 2004.  From 2006 to 2010, he was a member of the Board of Directors of the Historic Shepherdstown Commission, including two years as treasurer, while simultaneously serving two for two years on the Jefferson County Planning Commissioner. In 2007, the State of West Virginia recognized Ed as a “West Virginia History Hero” based on his preservation work, and the following year he was also honored by the Jefferson County Historic Landmarks Commission.   A combat veteran of the U.S. Army, Dunleavy received the Bronze Star for Valor with Oak Leaf Cluster following his 1968 tour of duty in Vietnam.  He retired to Jefferson County in 2003, following a successful career in the investment industry. 

Beyond his involvement with the Civil War Trust, Simpson is a member of the law firm Adams and Reese/Lange Simpson, LLP in Birmingham, Ala.  He has previously served as a lecturer at the University of Alabama, the state chairman of the U.S. Supreme Court Historical Society and the state chairman of the American College of Trial Lawyers. 
The Civil War Trust is the largest nonprofit battlefield preservation organization in the United States.  Its goal is to preserve our nation’s endangered Civil War sites and to promote appreciation of these hallowed grounds through education and heritage tourism.  To date, the Trust has preserved more than 30,000 acres of battlefield land in 20 states.  Please visit the Trust’s website at, the home of the Civil War sesquicentennial.


  • Jim Campi, (202) 367-1861 x7205
  • Mary Koik, (202) 367-1861 x7231


Our Sponsors

Powered by Blackbaud
nonprofit software