Civil War Trust
For Immediate Release: 05/21/11

Civil War Trust Announces Winners of 2011 Preservation Awards

Recipients lauded as “the best in the business” for preserving the hallowed ground of Civil War battlefields

(Chantilly, Va.) – During the organization’s annual conference in Chantilly, Va., Civil War Trust president James Lighthizer announced the winners of the 2011 Preservation Awards, recognizing extraordinary individual and organizational achievements in the cause of Civil War preservation.

“The work done by the Civil War Trust would simply not be possible without the efforts of men and women like those we honor this weekend,” Lighthizer said. “They are often the unsung heroes of historic preservation, but I am confident that their work will be felt for generations to come.”

The Preservation Awards were presented during a banquet at the Westfields Marriott Washington Dulles Hotel, as part of the organization’s Annual Conference. During his remarks, Lighthizer stressed the need for cooperation among like-minded groups and individuals together with the assistance of thoughtful government officials. 

Over the years, the Trust has honored a wide variety of individuals and groups for their work to preserve endangered Civil War battlefields. Previous winners include historians, National Park Service personnel, celebrities and even residential developers.  Despite such disparate backgrounds, all have made unique and lasting contributions to historic preservation.

The 2010 award winners are:

Shelby Foote Preservation Legacy Award:  This honor was given to three individuals who have demonstrated exceptional merit in Civil War battlefield preservation:

Julian Bibb is one of the driving forces behind the dramatic resurgence of historic preservation in Franklin, Tenn.  Through his leadership, prominent law firm Stites & Harbison has contributed more than $1 million in pro-bono work to battlefield preservation.

As chief counsel for the plaintiffs in the “Wilderness Walmart” lawsuit, Robert Rosenbaum led an Arnold & Porter legal team in a $2.5 million pro-bono effort that ultimately resulted in Walmart’s decision to seek an alternate location in Orange County, Va.

The creative director behind the “What Will Be Your Legacy?” campaign aimed at preventing approval of a casino near the Gettysburg Battlefield, Jeff Griffith oversaw a wholly volunteer video and advertising effort that reinvigorated the historic preservation movement in Pennsylvania.

Carrington Williams Battlefield Preservationist of the Year Award:  This award, named for the first chairman of the Civil War Trust, was presented to the “Wilderness Walmart” Plaintiffs: Curtis Abel, Dale Brown, Sheila Clark, Susan Caton, Dwight Mottet, Craig Rains, and Friends of Wilderness Battlefield.  These individuals and organization made a courageous and very public stand on behalf of the Wilderness Battlefield.

National Preservation Leadership Award:  This recognition for federal policymakers who have made significant contributions to preservation was awarded to Rep. Frank Wolf of Virginia.  Rep. Wolf is a staunch advocate of battlefield preservation, helping guide legislation through Congress to protect the Manassas National Battlefield as well as create the Cedar Creek and Belle Grove National Historical Park and the Shenandoah Valley Battlefields National Heritage Area.

Brian C. Pohanka Preservation Organization of the Year Award: This award was named after the late Brian Pohanka, an outstanding historian and one of the founders of the modern battlefield preservation movement. This year’s award went to No Casino Gettysburg for the outstanding grassroots activism that prevented a second attempt to bring casino gambling within a mile of Gettysburg National Military Park.

National Park Service Preservationist of the Year Award: This award, which is presented to outstanding NPS personnel, went to John Howard, recently retired Superintendent of Antietam National Battlefield. During his fifteen years at Antietam, Howard worked closely with the Trust to permanently protect 200 acres of the battlefield, while also increasing landscape and historic structure restoration efforts, establishing an active education program and increasing partnerships with the local community.

Preservationist Teacher of the Year Award:  Every year, the Trust recognizes an outstanding teacher for motivating students to become more involved in battlefield preservation. This year, the Trust recognized Mr. Richard Deardoff of Kettle Run High School and Lord Fairfax Community College, Fauquier County, Va.  Part of his rigorous curriculum, which emphasizes primary sources and local impact, requires students to volunteer at nearby sites. 

Discovery Trail Site of the Year Award: The White Oak Museum in Falmouth, Va., was honored as the top site on the Civil War Discovery Trail, a network of more than 600 historic sites in 32 states.  The museum displays the personal collection of D.P. Newton — potentially the finest private assortment of Civil War artifacts — inside a completely hand-restored building.

Reenactment Unit of the Year Award: Across the nation, many living history groups are actively involved in land and artifact preservation.  For the first time, the Trust has recognized a “civilian” organization with this honor.  The Civil War Dance Foundation and its performing troupe, the Victorian Dance Ensemble, have contributed more than $100,000 to preservation initiatives through outright donations and fundraisers. 

Civil War Roundtable of the Year Award:  This award was presented to the Bull Run Civil War Round Table for its commitment to excellence and battlefield preservation.  The Bull Run Civil War Roundtable has been a loyal member of the Trust since 1995, taking a particular interest in preservation efforts at nearby battlefields like Bristoe Station, Centreville, Chancellorsville, Chantilly and Manassas.
The Civil War Trust is the largest nonprofit battlefield preservation organization in the United States.  Its mission is to preserve our nation’s remaining Civil War battlefields and to promote appreciation of these hallowed grounds through education and heritage tourism.  Since 1987, the organization has helped save more than 30,000 acres of battlefield land in 20 states.  Learn more by visiting, the home of the Sesquicentennial.



  • Mary Koik, (202) 367-1861, ext. 7231


Our Sponsors

Powered by Blackbaud
nonprofit software