Civil War Trust
For Immediate Release: 05/26/06

Civil War Preservation Trust Announces Winners of 2006 Preservation Awards

(Washington, D.C.) - At its annual conference in April, the Civil War Preservation Trust (CWPT) announced the winners of its 2006 Preservation Awards. The awards were created to honor individuals and organizations for their exemplary dedication to the cause of Civil War preservation.

"We are engaged in a struggle to save America's Civil War legacy," remarked CWPT President James Lighthizer. "Without the kind of commitment displayed by this year's recipients, many Civil War sites will be little more than a memory within a few years."

The Preservation Awards were presented during a banquet at the Peabody Hotel in Memphis, Tennessee on Saturday evening, April 22, 2006. During the ceremony, Lighthizer stressed the need for cooperation among preservationists, and stated that he was proud to recognize a few of CWPT's many partners with these awards. Among the partners recognized this year were Franklin's Charge, the Morris Island Coalition, and the Wilson's Creek National Battlefield Foundation.

Lighthizer also announced that CWPT has renamed two of its preservation awards to honor two prominent Civil War historians who passed away in the past year: historian and preservationist Brian Pohanka (one of the founders of CWPT) and author Shelby Foote. Near the conclusion of the ceremony, Lighthizer introduced a video of Pohanka, made shortly before his death, in which the historian discusses the importance of battlefield preservation and CWPT's growing and evolving role.

The awards presented by Lighthizer at the conference were:

Edwin C. Bearss Lifetime Achievement Awards: Two lifetime achievement awards were presented this year.
-- Brian Pohanka, author, historian, and preservationist, for his lifetime commitment to the battlefield preservation movement. Pohanka's posthumous award was accepted by his wife Cricket.
-- Manuel Lujan, Jr., former Secretary of the Interior, received the award for his commitment to battlefield preservation and his role in creating the federal Civil War Sites Advisory Commission.

Shelby Foote Preservation Legacy Award: Franklin's Charge, Franklin, Tenn., for mobilizing an entire community to reclaim 110 acres on the Eastern Flank of the Franklin Battlefield.

Carrington Williams Battlefield Preservationist of the Year Award: Blake Hallman of the Morris Island Coalition, S.C., for his leadership in saving 126 acres of hallowed ground on Morris Island.

National Leadership Award: Congressman Roy D. Blunt of Missouri for his unflinching support of Wilson's Creek Battlefield and the Wilson's Creek National Battlefield Foundation.

State Leadership Award: Franklin Mayor Tom Miller and the Franklin City Board of Aldermen for their role in reclaiming the Pizza Hut site at Franklin and committing $2.5 million for preservation of the Eastern Flank portion of the Franklin Battlefield.

Brian C. Pohanka Preservation Organization of the Year Award: Wilson's Creek National Battlefield Foundation, Mo., for its role in saving battlefield land at Wilson's Creek.

National Park Service Preservationist of the Year Award: John Tucker, former superintendent of Fort Sumter National Monument, for his leadership on behalf of the Morris Island Coalition and preservation in the Charleston area.

Preservationist Teacher of the Year Award: Michelle Rowley-Welsch, Bexley, Ohio, for promoting preservation in the classroom.

Civil War Discovery Trail Site of the Year Award: Beauvoir, the Jefferson Davis Home and Library in Biloxi, Miss., for its determination to restore the home and library despite the damage inflicted by Hurricane Katrina.

Reenactment Unit of the Year Award: The Eighteenth Vermont Regiment for helping to raise funds to save a crucial part of the Breakthrough Battlefield at Petersburg, Va.

Civil War Roundtable of the Year Award: The Capital District Civil War Roundtable of Albany, N.Y. for raising nearly $25,000 for CWPT since 2001.

With over 70,000 members, CWPT is the largest nonprofit battlefield preservation organization in the United States. Its mission is to preserve our country's remaining Civil War battlefields. Since 1987, the organization has saved more than 22,000 acres of hallowed ground nationwide. CWPT's website is located at


  • Jim Campi or Mary Koik (CWPT)
    (202) 367-1861


Our Sponsors

Powered by Blackbaud
nonprofit software