Civil War Trust
For Immediate Release: 05/08/02

Civil War Preservation Trust Announces Winners of the 2002 Preservation Awards

(Washington, D.C.) - At its annual conference in April, the Civil War Preservation Trust (CWPT) announced the winners of its 2002 Preservation Awards. The awards were created to honor individuals and organizations for their exemplary dedication to the cause of Civil War preservation.

"We are engaged in a struggle to save America's Civil War legacy," remarked CWPT President James Lighthizer. "Without the kind of commitment displayed by this year's recipients, many Civil War-related sites will be little more than a memory within a few years."

The 16 Preservation Awards were presented during a banquet at the beautiful Chattanoogan Hotel in Chattanooga, Tennessee. During the ceremony, Lighthizer stressed the need for cooperation among preservationists, and stated that he was proud to recognize a few of CWPT's many partners with these awards.

    * The Edwin C. Bearss Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Jerry Russell, Director of Heritage PAC, a national battlefield preservation political action committee. The award is named after Chief Historian Emeritus of the National Park Service Edwin C. Bearss, the nation's best known Civil War historian and scholar.

    * The Battlefield Preservationist of the Year Award was presented to Norm Tomlinson of Morristown,N.J., for his generous financial contributions to
      CWPT and battlefield preservation in general.

    * National Leadership Award was presented to U.S. Senators Conrad Burns (R-Mont.), Robert C. Byrd (D-W.Va.), Trent Lott (R-Miss.) and Paul Sarbanes (D-Md.) for their commitment to Civil War battlefield preservation in Congress.

    * The State Leadership Award was presented to two state legislators, West Virginia State Delegate John Doyle (D-55 Dist.) and Tennessee State Representative Steve McDaniel (R-72 Dist.), for their outstanding leadership in their respective states.

    * The Preservation Organizations of the Year Award was presented to four outstanding local preservation groups: the Battle for the Bridge Historic Preserve of Munfordville, Ky.; the Iuka Battlefield Commission, Inc. and Friends of the Battle of Okolona in Mississippi; and the Kolb Farm Coalition, Inc. of Georgia.

    * The National Park Service Preservationist of the Year Award was presented to two outstanding Park Service officials: Robert K. Krick, a former NPS historian who retired in January; and Woody Harrell, current Superintendent of Shiloh National Military Park.

    * The Preservationist Teacher of the Year Award was presented to Thomas E. De Voe of Flanders, N.J., for his outstanding commitment to promoting battlefield preservation in the classroom. De Voe is a teacher at Mount Olive Middle School, Budd Lake,N.J.

    * The Civil War Discovery Trail Site of the Year Award was presented to the Carter House of Franklin,Tennessee, for its outstanding commitment to preserving and promoting America's Civil War heritage. The Civil War Discovery Trail is one of 16 national millennium trails in the U.S.

In praising the recipients, Lighthizer remarked, "These award winners are among the true guardians of our nation's Civil War heritage. Their efforts are helping to preserve the last tangible reminders of sacrifices made by those who donned the Blue and Gray."

With 40,000 members, CWPT is the largest nonprofit battlefield preservation organization in the United States. Its mission is to preserve our nation's endangered Civil War battlefields and to promote appreciation of these hallowed grounds through education and heritage tourism. 


  • Jim Campi (CWPT)
    (202) 367-1861


Our Sponsors

Powered by Blackbaud
nonprofit software